KS4 Subjects

The Core Curriculum

As part of the Key Stage 4 National Curriculum students have to study the following compulsory subjects.

  • English Literature
  • English Language
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Philosophy & Ethics
  • Physical Education


Studying these subjects will give you up to 4 GCSE grades or equivalent in your core subjects and will take up 17 lessons of your timetable.


The Optional Curriculum

Students will choose four options subjects from the 18 available. These subjects will take up a further 8 lessons on your timetable.

Some students will follow a curriculum designed to meet their specific needs and this will be discussed personally with those students.


The Government has introduced a new ‘qualification’ which it is calling the English Baccalaureate. At Melior we have always offered the subjects that make up this basket of qualifications. Some have been compulsory – English, Maths and Science, and others have been optional – Geography, History and a foreign language.

At Melior we have left it up to the students and their parents to choose the optional subjects which are suited to their skills and aspirations. So far the Government has left the optional subjects optional but has said that students who complete the EBacc will gain a certificate to recognise this. There is no indication yet that this certificate will be of any benefit to the students in terms of Further and Higher Education and employability.

In order to make sure that no Melior student is disadvantaged in the future, we have designed the options blocks to ensure that as many students who want to, will be able to study the EBacc qualifications as well as being able to choose from the large range of other qualifications on offer at Melior.

The following is a statement from the Government about the EBacc.

What is the English Baccalaureate?

The Government believes that schools should offer pupils a broad range of academic subjects to age 16, and the English Baccalaureate (EBacc) promotes that aspiration.

The EBacc is not a new qualification in itself. It will recognise students’ achievements across a core of selected academic subjects in getting good passes in rigorous GCSEs. The English Baccalaureate will cover achievement in English, mathematics, sciences, a language and a humanities subject. We intend to mark individual students’ future achievements through a certificate.

What subjects and qualifications will count towards the English Baccalaureate?

Full GCSEs at grades A*-C and Double Award GCSEs at grades A*A*-CC in English, Mathematics, Science, a foreign language and a humanity subject (Geography or History) will count towards it achievement.


Please use the menu to the left to select a subject